Hands To Myself

Hey Ivy Elites,

large

Currently, I’m sitting in my room trying to not put much thought in what happened at the Alumni Dinner. I’m about to head out onto the snowy campus to make a late night ice cream run at the local Ben & Jerry’s not to far away with Sophia and Summer. 

~*~

Kappa Delta Sorority House

Kappa Kappa Chapter

1:00 pm

“Sophia, I need your help.” I said knocking on her door softly. “I’m coming.” She responded opening the door following me down the hall. “Which one?” I asked gesturing to an array of dressy clothing laying on my bed. Tonight was one of the biggest social events a sorority and fraternity President has to go through, it’s the Alumni Dinner. At the dinner, Alumni from everyone of the sororities and fraternities on  campus gather around on one night to see how the latest chapter is doing with social events, recruitment, bid day, and the chapter’s house. Typically this where the Alumni decides how much they want to give in monetary donations to the new chapter. And, if you make a good enough impression on other sororities, they might even donate to their non-alma mater.

“I’d say wear this.” Sophia answered. “I love the simplicity of the black with the brightness of the pants.” She continued. “Don’t sweat this dinner. You always make us proud.” She finished her speech. “Thanks Soph.” I said putting away all the other clothing pieces I had pulled out. “What is the chapter’s plans for the night?” I asked Sophia before sitting on my bed. “Probably a movie night in.” She responded. “Sounds good.” I said getting up to head downstairs to grab some water.

Jacklynn was downstairs when I went and we both are not on speaking terms still. Even though we weren’t talking, she still tried to have a conversation. “How’s finishing touches of Bid Day coming along?” She asked me because she wasn’t on that committee. I shrugged in an I don’t know manner. “Well, when you meet the girl I brought on, I think you’ll start talking to me.” She said quickly before returning upstairs. Of course, that left a bit of unrest in me. I needed to know who she was talking about immediately. I grabbed a bottle of water and roamed the house searching for Summer. I asked her who Jacklynn was talking about, and she said she had no idea. I figured that after sometime I would eventually find out so, I headed back upstairs to study some more before the dinner.

~*~

Harvard University

Gathering Hall

4:55 pm

But people say what they wanna say

At about 3, I began the process of getting ready. I curled my blonde locks into looser waves, my nails were painted a lilac color, and I pulled out a statement necklace. I made sure to arrive at the Gathering Hall on campus a good ten minutes before “show-time”. I knew I should be early so that I could spot out all the Kappa Delta’s before any other sorority could.

 large (1)

“Ellie.” Stella, a Kappa Delta Alumni called my nickname that was set by her. I turned around with a water glass in my hand and walked over. I gave my typical speech about what the sorority was up to. “You look utterly ravishing.” Stella said complimenting me on my outfit. “You too.” I said smiling.

I continued to talk to other Kappa’s before I was stopped in my tracks by someone who looked familiar. I walked back over to Stella and realized that someone I knew was standing by her and was talking to her. Stella motioned me over once again. “Caitlin Elle, meet Anton Matthew Smith.” The man, I had gotten to know at the Sigma Chi mixer was someone of importance. I just didn’t understand how, because Jaysen Hanson was president. Anton looked up and shook my hand delicately pretending as if we had just met. “He’s a professor here at Harvard attempting to get a PhD in Political Science.” Stella said providing me with more introduction. It slowly started to make sense. He had to be Sigma Chi alumni which is why I didn’t see him a prior tailgates or parties. To say I was stunned was a understatement. I walked out of the Gathering Hall in search of an empty bathroom so, I could have time to myself.

~*~

I want it all, no, nothing else

Once I was finished, Anton pulled me aside in an adjacent lecture hall. “What is it that you want?” I said growing annoyed. “Let me explain.” He said pleading. “That’s why you were so weird the other day at the Café. You were just alumni and didn’t want to tell me.” I said to him annoyance evident. “Look, at Sigma Chi’s mixer, I introduced me as a DJ because that’s my side job that I use the money I gain from those gigs as ways to pay for my PhD tuition and such. I didn’t think there was anything wrong with not saying I was an instructor until we kept running into each other at random places. Plus, I really like you and want to get to know you.” He said reaching for my hand. “This is so wrong.” I said to him softly. “Why does it feel so right?” He responded closing some of the gap between us. “Your my instructor.” I said to him softly. “It’s not like your in my class.” He said quietly.

Can’t keep my hands to myself

That night Anton and I went downtown for a few hours. At the end of the night he kissed me. That left me happy and utterly confused.

black-and-white-couple-cute-gif-Favim.com-2029822

Forever An Ivy Elite,

Callie Elle Andrews


Callie’s Callings

Song for the Post: Hands To Myself

1. Thank you for taking the time to read this post!!

2. What do you think about the plot twist with Anton?

6 thoughts on “Hands To Myself

  1. Amazing post. I love the chemistry between Anton and Callie. Maybe Callie gets in trouble for kissing an instructor I don’t know. Only time can tell can it? As I said before, amazing. Love your writing
    Yours Truly,
    ~SL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment