Liar Liar

Hey Ivy Elites, 

large (1).jpg

Currently, I’m sitting at my desk finishing this post before joining the girls downstairs for a movie night with the new potential members. This is a continuation of the previous post. Recruitment Week has been completed, and it’s time to conquer Rush Week. 

~*~

Downtown Cambridge Metropolitan Area 

Jenkins’s Pub & Bar

3:15 pm

Liar liar, don’t cry on my shoulder

I walked into restaurant and directly toward the hostess stand. I let the hostess know that I’m going to go sit at the bar. I sat down and the bartender came to me asking what I would like to get. “I’ll get a small virgin Strawberry Daiquiri with an order of nachos with extra cheese and jalapeños.” I said not bothering to look at the menu. The bartender walked away. I sat there patiently waiting for my food. “I’ll take a beer and keep them coming until I need to stop.” I heard someone say next to me. I looked up from my phone and saw that it was Anton. “Bad day, huh?” I said looking up briefly. “Well, that’s humiliating. But, yes. It all started with your rejection.” He said laughing. “I’m kidding, just a stressful day.” He continued when I looked at him kind of confused on the rejection comment. “You?” He asked. “Eh, I don’t want to talk about it.” I responded. “Come on.” He said beginning the process of prying it out of me. “Enlighten me on the life of Callie Andrews.” He said smiling. “Fine. Pretty much at that party last night, my ex boyfriend, Derek and my best friend, Jacklynn hooked up.” I said looking at him waiting for his response. “Terrible, just terrible. Worse day then me.” He said shaking his head. I finished my plate of nachos and Daiquiri before getting up. “Here’s my number if you ever want to talk.” He said writing his number on a piece of a napkin. “Okay, thanks.” I said folding the napkin piece shoving it into my coat pocket. “See you around.” I said before walking out.

~*~

With words I’ve been betrayed
the respond and let them fade
and I just won’t let you bring me down

What was supposed to be a night of not talking about it turned into an entire evening of talking about it. “Hails.” I said standing in front of Hayley Ellis’s door to her room. She opened it looking disheveled. “You look worse than I should.” I said laughing. “Paper writing.” She said groaning. “Where’s Ashleigh?” I asked before sitting on a ottoman in her room. “I’ll get her.” Hayley said going next door banging on Ashleigh Harrowington’s door. Ashleigh came into the room with Hayley and they shut the door. “What’s going on?” Ashleigh asked completely oblivious to what was going on in the house. “What should I do about Jacklynn?” I asked Hayley. “Maybe ignore her. Show her that if you betray a sister you get not spoken, too.” Ashleigh volunteered. I knew I didn’t want to do anything drastic. Just something to teach her a lesson with. “Thank you girls.” I said getting up to hug them.

Starting that evening I began the whole not talking to Jacklynn. I barely maintained any eye contact with her at dinner. It was incredibly difficult to not talk to her, but I knew I couldn’t let her think it was just okay. After dinner, I went to the Sigma Chi Fraternity House in search of Levi. The boy who has been pretty much nonexistent in my life since school began. It was getting quite frustrating with me having to the majority of the work. “I wouldn’t be surprised if we don’t make it to spring break.”, I recall telling Sophia last week.

~*~

So break away the touch
Of bliss you miss so much
But I won’t tell you to come back home
Emotions dissipate;
Is love designed to hate?
Keep on driving away from here

I walk up to his room and knock on the door. I tensed up, with the frustration of him not answering. “Levi?” I asked. He opened the door after hearing my voice. “Hey Caitlin.” He said letting me walk by. “You doing okay?” “I haven’t heard from you at all today. I called.” I said sitting on his bed. “I know. I was busy. I’m sorry.” He responded closing the door. “It’s okay. I just needed to talk to you about something.” I said smiling at him. “What is it?” He asked.

tumblr_meurea7BHR1rijbg1o1_r1_500

I told him the entire story about Derek and Jacklynn. When I finished he didn’t say anything at first. Then when he spoke up, he said the one thing I didn’t expect him to say, “Well, it happened. Now you need to get over it.” “That’s kind of harsh. How can you be so insensitive? Do you have any idea how betrayed I feel right now? My best friend betrayed me!” I said kind of upset with him and his reaction. “Well, that’s life.” He said looking at me in the eye. That’s when I knew what I had told Sophia previously would become true, we weren’t going to make it to spring break because lack of seeing him, but because of his insensitivity. “I don’t think this is going to work out.” I said quietly. “I was thinking the same thing earlier, Callie. Just a lot of effort that I sick of putting in.” He responded. Once I heard that, my heart began to break. “I guess I should leave.” I said getting up. “Goodbye Levi.” I finished before going to open the door. “Goodbye Callie.”

Oh, oh goodbye to no one

~*~

Massachusetts Area Café

12:15 pm

Earlier that morning, I picked up every photo I had of Levi up out of my room and put them in  box where I set it in the back of my closet. I couldn’t bear to look at them anymore. It sucked how it ended between him and I. I was so upset, hurt, and kinda of disappointed. I was sitting alone doing some homework when Anton walked in. “Hey.” He said looking down at me. “What are you doing?” He asked after sitting down and putting his leather jacket on the back of his chair. “Psych homework.” I responded closing my book and laptop. I got up going to get a refill on my glass of water I had sitting next to me. “What do you got going on this weekend?” He asked once I was sitting again. “More Sorority stuff. I got a Alumni Dinner to go to.” “Oh.” He responded getting fidgety and silent. “I’m going to go.” He said getting up. “You just got here.” I said confused. He fled from the café leaving me confused. I had no idea what was his problem was and I was determined to know.

Forever An Ivy Elite,

Callie Elle Andrews


Callie’s Callings

Liar Liar

  1. Thank you for taking the time to read this post. It’s greatly appreciated. What do you think Anton problem is or what he’s hiding?
  2. Please check out my other two blogs: Alicia Rivera and Kristen Gregory !

5 thoughts on “Liar Liar

Leave a comment